Do unto others, yeah?

Things to do when you work night shift and you’re off:

  • Watch Cooking shows. You’ll probably get some ideas about some cool stuff to make which will send you on an internet search for recipes. Traditional, Vegetarian, Paleo, Vegan, Paleo-Vegan – go crazy. Then go shopping.
  • Wander the aisles of your local Wal-Mart. It’s literally the only place open at 3am. You can grab ingredients for that fantastic food you’re planning to make.
  • Cook. Yeah, tonight I made egg muffins for the kiddos in the morning and sweet potato-kale-spinach bombs that I hope don’t taste like butt. Dinner was pretty tasty, too. Picture to the right.
  • Catch up on television…currently watching This Is Us. All the feels in one show. Next, I will probably catch up on American Horror Story: Hotel.
  • Writing? um..about that…
  • Yoga…kind of.
  • Work out. NTC app is awesome! Do that thing! Quietly…
  • Finish that education. Two more classes completed tonight.

 

It isn’t fun working nights. I noticed I’m grumpier when the kids are awake and I feel awful about it. I’m very, very used to the quiet now, especially after being apart from them all summer. I’m going to adjust myself.

While wandering the aisles of Wal-Mart, I was approached by a guy. He’s in his mid-thirties, wearing a Deadpool hat and carrying honey peanut butter and marshmallows. He compliments my glasses, offers a warm smile and a handshake. He’s nice, a little on the awkward side, and I know that he’s attracted to me – we passed each other in the aisle before and now he’s holding eye contact, remarking on my hoodie and taking note of what is inside my basket. We converse, it was nice. I looked like garbage – I’m in sweats, a hoodie, sneakers, and my hair is up in a ponytail. But he stopped me to talk anyway. He asks me if we can hang out sometime and I let him down easy. He took it well, we hugged and departed.

Those kinds of interactions should be shared. I was kind, I was engaged in the conversation, but ultimately I wasn’t interested in him. I wasn’t rude, I didn’t even have to mention my boyfriend – he took my “no” with grace. Not all men will react with anger and indignation when you reject him, for whatever reason you decide is appropriate. Each of us only wants to be treated with dignity, respect, and kindness. I wasn’t defensive and he wasn’t offended when I politely declined. Jesus, people. Just be nice to each other.

 

If nothing ever comes of this endeavor, if all I ever use this blog for is cathartic writing and practices, I’m okay with that. I do hope that anyone who takes the time to read my entries at least comes away with the feeling that I walk my talk – that being kind isn’t just a thing I talk about; it’s in the way I live. I don’t do mean, I don’t do gossip, I don’t do hatred. And when confronted with those things, they tend to bring out the worst in me. I don’t want to be that person…so forgive me if I’m quiet, or if I don’t participate in your systematic break down of another person, or your criticisms of someone else or something else. It’s just not who I want to be.

Leave a Reply

